Welcome


The St. Austin Review (StAR) is the premier international journal of Catholic culture, literature, and ideas. In its pages, printed every two months, some of the brightest and most vigorous minds around meet to explore the people, ideas, movements, and events that shape and misshape our world.


From the Ink Desk Blog


Blog

Chesterton and Education

The latest article of mine to be published by Faith & Culture is on G. K. Chesterton and the Meaning of Education: https://www.faithandculture.com/home/2018/10/11-chesterton-and-the-meaning-of-education
Blog

A Ring of Fellowship

My review of a recent book on Tolkien, Lewis and the Inklings has just been published by Faith & Culture: https://www.faithandculture.com/home/2018/10/10-a-ring-of-fellowship
Blog

Odysseus Meets Pink Floyd

What do Odysseus and Pink Floyd have in common? All is revealed in an article of mine just published by Faith & Culture: https://www.faithandculture.com/home/2018/10/09-comfortably-numb
Blog

The Best Contemporary Fiction

The Imaginative Conservative has published my list of a dozen works of fiction, published in the 21st century, which I recommend. http://www.theimaginativeconservative.org/2018/10/best-contemporary-christian-fiction-joseph-pearce.html
Blog

Portrait of an Honest Ghost

One of the most misunderstood characters in all of Shakespeare’s plays is the Ghost of Hamlet’s Father. Here’s my defence of this noble spirit: https://www.faithandculture.com/home/2018/9/26/portrait-of-an-honest-ghost
Blog

Words on a Sword

Faith and Culture has just published my brief appraisal of Evelyn Waugh’s Sword of Honour: https://www.faithandculture.com/home/2018/9/26/words-on-a-sword
Blog

Anger is an Enemy

The National Catholic Register has just published my rant against anger! http://www.ncregister.com/blog/josephpearce/anger-is-an-enemy
Blog

Truth is Stranger than Fiction

In the latest article in the regular “Adages” feature at faithandculture.com I ask whether truth is really stranger than fiction: https://www.faithandculture.com/home/2018/9/26/truth-is-stranger-than-fiction
Blog

A Conversation on C. S. Lewis

I’ve just been sent the link to an excellent podcast on C. S. Lewis which has enthused me sufficiently that I’d like to share it: http://restlesspilgrim.net/blog/2018/09/25/the-eagle-and-child-s1e36/
Blog

Three Articles in Spanish

Three of my articles have recently been published in Spanish translation by Religion en Libertad: https://www.religionenlibertad.com/opinion/460536717/Los-ninos-ayudan-a-los-adultos-a-crecer.html https://www.religionenlibertad.com/opinion/155681376/Se-clavan-a-sus-propias-cruces.html https://www.religionenlibertad.com/opinion/602835330/Virtud-vs.-virtuosismo-en-educacion.html
Blog

The Legacy of John Henry Newman

The Preface that I wrote for The Quotable Newman (Sophia Institute Press, 2012) has just been published by Faith & Culture: https://www.faithandculture.com/home/09/27/18-the-legacy-of-john-henry-newman
Blog

Is it Time for the Beer Option?

In a recent podcast for Faith & Culture I discuss good ale and the role of craft brewing in the history of Christendom with Jared Staudt, author of The Beer Option: https://www.faithandculture.com/home/2018/09/17/18-reboot-live-rkaad